Pollo con mole poblano

The first meal I had in Mexico City was at this restaurant across the plaza from my hotel.


The mole sauce was a little spicy. It was savory and earthy and complemented the chicken well.  Chicken is a bland meat that benefits from such a sauce.


Bottled mango juice was good. 

I tried a michelada. They did not have tomato juice, but mango, orange and spicy tamarind, which is what I ordered.


I really liked it. The spiciness, sweetness and sour flavors turned the humble beer into something like a cocktail. The tamarind paste was applied to the mug and dusted with chile powder. 

Published by

ichewgumeverywhere

I live in sunny California

Leave a Reply

