Fensenjan 

I had heard about this Persian a few times and curiosity compelled me to try and make it.


http://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1017040-fesenjan
That was the final result. Although it didn’t look impressive, it was happily received by my audience, in this case my parents. 

I started off with walnuts.


Then I roasted them in the oven.


When the walnuts had cooled down, I put them into the food processor. 


I took a butternut squash and shredded it. 



I diced chicken breasts and thighs for flavor, I’m in the habit of dicing  chicken, but Persians probably would have tossed the chicken parts in the pot.


I cooked the chicken in the pot.


After it was browned, I took it out. 


It wasn’t really browned because I tossed it all into the pot, rather than cooking it in batches. 

I then added butter to the pot and then a chopped red onion.


Then I added the walnut paste and the pomegranate molasses.


I then added the shredded squash, saffron, cinnamon and the chicken stock. 


Last I put the chicken back into the pot and cooked it for awhile to let the flavors mix and sauce reduce. 


Savory, earthy and tangy, I loved it. I enjoyed the texture as well. 

I served it on rice with a side salad of cucumbers, parsley, tomatoes and red onion.

Published by

ichewgumeverywhere

I live in sunny California

Leave a Reply

