Mushroom Corn Tacos

What I really wanted was huitlacoche quesadillas. Or just one. Instead, I ordered this at a Mexican restaurant in the Gaslamp District last month.

What is huitlacoche you ask?

It’s a fungus that grows on corn. It is delicious and I have eaten it exactly one other time. I wanted to go to the place that serves it in Chula Vista, but I wasn’t driving.


The presentation was good and everything tasted fresh. But I was still hungry afterwards and it was fairly bland.


The margarita was decent. Earlier, I had walked around downtown with my brother. We saw some Indians protesting the Navy using an ancient burial ground for some nefarious purpose.


It was a beautiful day.

The huitlacoche quesadillas of Texcoco Es Aquí beckon.

Published by

ichewgumeverywhere

I live in sunny California

Leave a Reply

