Ume Katsuo Beef Udon

I had seen this udon restaurant, Idaten Udon, several times when I walked underground from the City Hall MRT station to Suntec City. Instead of proceeding to Pasar Bella, I stopped here for dinner. 


This was a special. The light broth had plum juice (ume) added to it. In addition to the udon noodles there was beef, dried bonito flakes and I added chopped ginger and scallions from the condiment stand.


The broth was tart and a little sweet. The bonito flakes added a mild fishiness to the bowl. 


I also had an onigiri (rice cake) called ajidouraku. 


All the good stuff was on the outside. I still liked it. 

Published by

ichewgumeverywhere

I live in sunny California

Leave a Reply

